Pitchfork Music Festival ’08 Recap: Sunday

Pitchfork really knows how to make a schedule that appeals to their hipsters. Not! I was running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. Because of the crazy lineup I was only able to hear one song by Dirty Projectors! 😦

Sunday:

So we started our day off early to check out Mahjongg, High Places, HEALTH, Les Savy Fav, The Dodos. Ghostface Killah & Raekwon, and Bon Iver.

Highlights

Mahjongg definitely has one of my favorite albums of 2008 and I knew that they would not disappoint with this performance. It was scorching hot, and I probably sweat off 5 lbs dancing.

-After running to see one Dirty Projectors song, I ran back to see High Places. They were so cute and convinced me enough to go buy their album.

-This was my third time seeing HEALTH so I didn’t really know how their show could have improved or been any different. Alas I was amazed at how much these boys always give a top notch performance and like the rest of the crowd I was screaming with excitement.

Les Savy Fav. What can I say about them? Absolutely great songs and great entertainment. I wonder where I can get a one legged red lame’ legging.

Lowlights

– I was dying of heat during The Dodos and the sun definitely was a nuisance for not letting me thoroughly enjoy their performance. It was very lovely and I had “Fools” stuck in my head for the rest of the day.

Ghostface Killah & Raekwon was one of those hip hop shows I saw just to say that I saw. I mean where else can I sing “C.R.E.A.M.” at the top of my lungs without people looking at me weird. I was pretty pooped by this time so I just sat around.

-I love Bon Iver and I love For Emma, For Ever Ago, but it wasn’t a great of a performance as when I saw him at The BIlliken Club. He did perform a new song/ cover. Also the crowd was insane because of early Cut Copy fans so I couldn’t really hear Bon Iver.

We left the festival pretty early to avoid traffic, but I would say the weekend was an overall success. It was a $50 well spent and I can’t wait to come back next year.

One response to “Pitchfork Music Festival ’08 Recap: Sunday

  1. “I wonder where I can get a one legged red lame’ legging.” <– My suggestion: head to Am. App. and bring a pair of scissors.

    Oh man, what a crazy weekend. There were just too many great bands and not enough time to see them all.

    It was a pleasure meeting one-half of the Toe Taps staff as well!

Leave a Reply

