David Vandervelde Is Just Fine

Picture courtesy of Secretly Canadian website

I don’t really know how to put this other than I have a slight obsession with David Vandervelde or the entire Secretly Canadian label. His 70s inspired classic rock n’ roll jamz are just too goddamn good. I do have a fault as in I don’t really listen to 70s music, but I will damn listen to 70s inspired music. I’m kind of strange. It’s been a year since his debut album, The Moonstation House Band which I was completely obsessed with. But my wishes were finally been answered when I saw that David will be releasing a new album, Waiting For The Sunrise, later this summer.

The latest track titled “I Will Be Fine” was recently debuted. This song is a lot more light, airy and poppy similar to dare I say it, Seals & Crofts. It’s a beautiful track and its obvious that he moved on from his T. Rex inspired songs to a different area of the 70s. Sir Vandervelde is simply a fine specimen and have faith in any work that he will release.

He will performing at Schubas in Chicago July 27th. I’m assuming that he’ll go on tour in the fall to support the new album, here’s hoping that he makes a stop in the Lou specifically The Billiken Club.

David Vandervelde – I Will Be Fine [MP3] [Insound] [Itunes]

Leave a Reply

