Who Are All These Bands!?

Does It Offend You, Yeah? is the newest hot faux indie band.  Quite frankly they offend me very much so.

It offends me that corporations can find the most generic sounding band and market it as “hot” to the masses and they’ll believe it.  DIOY,Y?  simply combine the likes of all the current electro wave synth rock bands such as The Klaxons, Justice, and The Killers and want to claim that as their own.   I’m not going to fall for it.  I’m sure this band will be a hit with alternative screamo teens that realize that being emo isn’t cool anymore.  This isn’t something new, we all heard of this before.  So why should I listen to some band rip off a bunch of other better bands?  I simply don’t get it.

This is a trend band and it annoys me that such a band could exist and thrive on such a non creative and  unoriginal sound. I will give it to them and say that I really enjoy working out to their music.  It’s not bad music and definitely danceable, but it’s the principle.  They used a formula and are cranking out tunes that don’t stimulate the brain or seek a greater meaning.

All I know that Does It Offend You, Yeah? will be performing at Lollapalooza this year and I will not be in attendance.

Then I was reading Nylon magazine and came upon an article about this new upcoming nicely dressed, inappropiately named band, The Virgins.  I will give them that they were dressed pretty spiffy even with a signature cuff pants look.  Oddly enough I was brainwashed by the magazine into thinking that these kids were cool and good.  Little did I know that I was mistaken when I recieved a copy of their latest album.  With titles like “She’s Expensive”, “Rich Girl” and “Hey Hey Girl”, this is not the band I was expecting.  I would say they sound like a Maroon 5 with a hint of Vampire Weekend. Oh how easily was I to accept any band that is written by ultra hip, Nylon. I’m not ONE of those kids, right?!  The Virgins aren’t bad, but like DIOY,Y? it’s generic indie rock.  All of the same stuff that I’ve heard before and they somehow found themselves signed onto a major record label. These bands don’t give me a reason to listen to them beyond this one album that happens to fall into the hottest trend right now.  They’ll be thrown away so the next band will have their one generic album to thrive. Am I judging these bands because they are simply on major record labels?  I really don’t think so.  All I’m saying is that I’m tired of these sub par indie bands being marketed.

Yes, I’ve listened to both of these bands’ albums. Catchy as shit, but check out the music yourself below.  The DIOY,Y? track reminds me of The Killers vs. RAC

Does It Offend You, Yeah? – Dawn Of The Dead [MP3] [Insound]

http://streamos.atlrec.com/wmedia/atlantic/the_virgins/audio/rich_girls.wax

The VIrgins – Hey Girl [Stream] [Insound]

Leave a Reply

