Album Review | Death Cab For Cutie – Narrow Stairs

Ok, here it is my review of DCFC’s newest album, after prejudging it so harshly in the past. I thought that it was only fair that I post what I thought of it. I know I am behind, but better late than never, right?

One thing I am surprised as a Death Cab For Cutie fan is how unaware I was of the epicness of the music. Narrow Stairs seems to be much more of an anthem driven album with progressive guitars and Gibbard’s angsty singing laid on top than albums in the past. It makes me want to drive on an empty highway going nowhere with my foot hanging out the window. Of course, there are those slow jams that fill the background of any teenage suicide scene as well as optimistic child birthing scenes. Death Cab For Cutie is great for the imagination and creating movie soundtracks for me, I guess. Some songs like “Talking Bird” is easily forgettable and passable. While “Long Division” on the other hand is probably the most pleasant surprise I got from the album. It was so distinctly different and unusual from what I would expect from DCFC, but I truly enjoyed the track. I would love to know the inspiration because it makes me want to have a good ole boogie down to that song. Although I find that “The Ice Is Getting Thinner” is basically the same song as ” Marching Bands of Manhattan” except a concluding version.

All in all, I would say the album is good. I mean it’s not my favorite of theirs, but they still remain current and relevant which I think it’s the best they can do right now. The sound has changed, but not drastically to where they would lose the appeal of their target audience. The music has definitely improved and it has become much more complex and stage driven rock.

Standout tracks are “Bixby Cannon Bridge”, “No Sunlight”, “Your New Twin Sized Bed”, and “Long Division”

Death Cab For Cutie – Long Division[MP3] [Itunes] [Insound] [Amazon]

Leave a Reply

