Cul-de-sac Chic

AJ Mesleh, 19 and Emma Brady, 20–Cleveland, OH

I found these two ruffians in a cul-de-sac when I was back home. Actually, they are my friends and they kindly obliged when I told them I wanted to style and profile them.

AJ Mesleh, mattress-factory employee (make that money, don’t let it make you.)

Explain the outfit.
Ze outfit is a product of my trashiness.

Where do you like to shop?
freshcotton.com, thrift stores; a lot of different places I suppose

Favorite article of clothing?
Well, I just got a job at a mattress warehouse so lately I’ve been pretty into flannel shirts. All I need now is a lumberjack beard and I’ll be set for life.

What catches your eye when shopping for clothes?
I usually look for clothes that people will secretly judge me for wearing.

If you could be any article of clothing, what would it be and why?
JORTS. Do you really need to ask why?

Emma Brady, student at DePaul University

Explain your outfit.
I’m sporting a YSL belt, sweater dress, brown tights, and boots. Lovely.

Where do you like to shop?
I like to shop at all the standards. Urban Outfitters, Forever 21, H&M, etc. My favorite designer is Isaac Mizrahi.

What is your favorite article of clothing?
My favorite article of clothing would have to be my cardigan. I find a level of comfort within it.

What catches your eye when shopping for clothes?
When shopping, I look for a variety of clothes. Fun shapes, Native American inspired articles, mostly neutral colors, etc.

If you could be any article of clothing, what would you be and why?
If I could buy any article of clothing I would buy a jet pack, does that count? I think it would truly be the finishing touch to any look.

5 responses to “Cul-de-sac Chic

  1. Yeah, Emma, you made the big time in Stylin’ & Profilin’ and would someone please explain … what are JORTS?

  2. Mom, I do believe Jorts are jean shorts.

  3. haha i couldn’t have picked better candidates for such a segment. bravo!

  4. what part of cleveland are you from? i’m west side, rocky river represent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

