Rothbury Festival: of Montreal, Snoop Dogg, John Mayer?!?!

When one thinks of the future of live music, what comes to mind? Flosstradamus on the same bill as Dave Matthews Band? Diplo playing a DJ set for rowdy 311 fans/dude-bros with arm-band tattoos and eyebrow piercings?

Well, call me crazy, but The Rothbury Festival at the Double JJ Ranch (…what?!) in Rothbury, Michigan will be fulfilling every Primus fan AND Black Keys enthusiast’s wildest dreams, along with all of the aforementioned acts on the same bill. In the same place. July 3-6. And for $244.

I mean, I don’t know what kind of music people enjoy to listen to in Michigan, and I obviously understand Phish-heads and other like-minded jam-band fans need their festivals too, but I never thought I’d see the day that of Montreal fans would have to battle it out in the beer-line with Dave Matthew’s Band die-hards.

I simply think this whole line-up is very peculiar. If you were getting buck to Flosstradamus’ bangin’ beats, would you want to risk getting felt-up by a smelly, head-banging Broseph waiting to see Slightly Stoopid?

 

Hey Rothbury Festival, (in the words of our favorite, Kells) “Is you tweakin’?”
4 responses to “Rothbury Festival: of Montreal, Snoop Dogg, John Mayer?!?!

  1. Hmm, what’s wrong with mixing bands? I have a wide range of taste in music. Why can’t I listen to Dave and also listen to Hip Hop? You might be able to judge people’s fashion based off of the music they listen to, but you can’t judge someone’s personality. By the way, I don’t have an arm band tattoo or an eyebrow ring. I am going to take your advice and call ya crazy. See you in the beer line.

  2. HAHAHAAHA this is honestly a laughably ignorant rant from someone who has clearly never attended a festival before. PLEASE don’t go to this festival the last thing we need is someone spewing there faggy, ignorant bullshit to anyone who’ll listen.

  3. Nah, I’ve been to a festival or two in my short lifetime, friendo.
    Please try to forgive me for posting my opinion on my blog.
    Try not to get too rowdy in the 311 pit.

  4. I attended Rothbury; I jammed out to every kind of music offered there, and I can tell you – at a gathering like that, few people are really worried about judging anybody else or mind kickin’ it in the beer line next to someone with different musical preferences.

    And, though it was centered around the music, the Double JJ Ranch was also a really beautiful location. I feel priviledged to have experienced the first Rothbury Festival — I wish you’d have come. It would have blown your mind.

Leave a Reply

